Thursday, 29 January 2009

Election of Church Commissioners

This press release was issued by the Church of England yesterday.

Elections to the Church Commissioners
28 January 2009

In its current round of quinquennial elections to the Church Commissioners, the General Synod has appointed three clerical and four lay members.

They are:

House of Clergy
The Revd Canon Bob Baker
The Revd Jeremy Crocker (St Albans)
The Revd Stephen Trott (Peterborough)

House of Laity
April Alexander (Southwark)
Peter Bruinvels (Guildford)
Gavin Oldham (Oxford)
Jacob Vince (Chichester)


Four members of the House of Bishops and two Deans were duly nominated for election as Commissioners. In both cases this was the number required and it was announced in December that the following therefore stood elected to serve as Church Commissioners from 1 January 2009 - 31 December 2013:

The Rt Revd David Urquhart, Bishop of Birmingham
The Rt Revd Mike Hill, Bishop of Bristol
The Rt Revd Dr Peter Forster, Bishop of Chester
The Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dr Richard Chartres, Bishop of London

The Very Revd Adrian Newman, Dean of Rochester
The Very Revd Dr Christopher Hardwick, Dean of Truro

The other Church Commissioners are

The Archbishop of Canterbury (chairman)
The Archbishop of York

The three Church Estates Commissioners (appointed by Her Majesty)
Andreas Whittam Smith, First Church Estates Commissioner
Sir Stuart Bell MP, Second Church Estates Commissioner
T E H Walker, Third Church Estates Commissioner

Three people nominated by Her Majesty
R H Powers
Canon J A Spence
J Wythe

Three people nominated by the Archbishops
P Harrison QC
Peter Parker
Nicholas Sykes

Three people Nominated by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York after consultation with the Lord Mayors of the Cities of London and York and the Vice-Chancellors of Oxford and Cambridge Universities
B Carroll
Sir Robert Finch
Revd Rachel E Harrison

Ex Officio
The First Lord of the Treasury
The Lord President of the Council
The Secretary of State for the Home Department
The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
The Speaker of the House of Commons
The Speaker of the House of Lords

Posted by Peter Owen on Thursday, 29 January 2009 at 3:46pm GMT | TrackBack
You can make a Permalink to this if you like
Categorised as: Church of England

But do they ever all meet?

Posted by: Wilf on Thursday, 29 January 2009 at 6:21pm GMT

More to the point:
Do they ever meet in public?

Posted by: dodgey_vicar on Thursday, 29 January 2009 at 10:44pm GMT


According to the Annual Report of the Church Commissioners "The Board of Governors transacts the functions and business of the Commissioners except where, by statute or through delegation by the Board, these are exercised by Committees. Except State office holders, all Church Commissioners are members of the Board of Governors."

So the six State Office holders (the six Ex Officio members listed above) do not attend the Governors meetings. The 2007 annual report lists the attendance records of the other commissioners. It says that "The Archbishop of Canterbury chairs the annual general meeting. By arrangement, he did not attend the Board of Governors’ meetings in 2007." With the exception of one person (who only became a commissioner late in the year) all the other governors attended at least one of the five board meetings held during the year. Nearly all of them also sat on, and attended, at least one committee.

Annual Reports can be downloaded from here.

Posted by: Peter Owen on Thursday, 29 January 2009 at 10:55pm GMT

This thread makes me think Gilbert and Sullivan could have produced a wonderful operetta!

The Commissioners Cavort


Posted by: Rev L Roberts on Saturday, 31 January 2009 at 7:03pm GMT
Post a comment

Remember personal info?

Please note that comments are limited to 400 words. Comments that are longer than 400 words will not be approved.

Cookies are used to remember your personal information between visits to the site. This information is stored on your computer and used to refill the text boxes on your next visit. Any cookie is deleted if you select 'No'. By ticking 'Yes' you agree to this use of a cookie by this site. No third-party cookies are used, and cookies are not used for analytical, advertising, or other purposes.